Click to Home
HomeGovernment

Go To Search
CommunityResident Help Center
Dog Licenses
For information and applications for use of the dog park follow the link below...

http://eastlinerompandplay.weebly.com/

Apply for a dog license at the Malta Town Clerk's office, 2540 Rt. 9, Malta, NY 12020. (Satisfactory proof of ownership/transfer of ownership may be required.

 

For Guide dogs, war dogs, hearing dogs, police work dogs, service dogs, working search dogs, detection dogs, or therapy dogs; satisfactory proof is required, such as a training certificate, etc. for licenses.

 

IN ADDITION TO THE APPLICATION THE OWNER WILL NEED:

 

    If the dog is spayed or neutered - a certificate from the veterinarian showing 
    that the dog has been spayed or neutered, unless this proof is already on file
    with the clerk

    Proof of ownership - usually in the form of a veterinary bill / medical statement.

    All dogs four months or older must have proof of a rabies vaccination signed
    by a licensed veterinarian or a certificate stating why the life of the dog would
    be endangered by the vaccine.


After the application and required certificate(s) are filed and the license fee has been paid, the license will be validated for one year. Each dog is assigned a permanent official identification (ID) number and issued a metal ID tag which is to be attached to the dog's collar.
NO REFUNDS will be made after a license has been validated. There shall be a $3.00 fee for a replacement tag within one year of license issuance.

LICENSE FEES (Town of Malta Schedule):

Spayed/neutered: $9.50
Unspayed/unneutered: $17.50

Guide, war, hearing, police work, service, working search, detection, or therapy: NO FEE

*  $1.00 of fee for spayed/neutered (NYS regulation) goes to an Animal Population and Control Fund.

**$3.00 of fee for unspayed/unneutered (NYS regulation) goes to an Animal Population and Control Fund.

WHAT DOGS MUST BE LICENSED:

Every dog owned or harbored in New York State for longer than 30 days must be licensed. The following are the only license exemptions:

~Dogs less than four months of age and not running at large (off the owner's premises).

~If a non-resident brings a dog into New York State for less than 30 days and the dog is licensed according to the resident state's licensing laws.

~Dogs confined to the premises of any public or private hospital, devoted solely to the treatment of sick animals; or confined for purpose of research to the premises of any college or other educational or research institution.

~Dogs confined to the premises of any person, firm, or corporation engaged in the business of breeding or raising dogs for profit, and licensed as a Class A dealer under the Federal Laboratory Animal